Statesboro Traffic Violations LAWYER
Skilled Legal Representation in Bulloch County Traffic Courts
When receiving a traffic ticket in Georgia, you have two options. You can pay the fine attached or you can appear in court to contest the violation on the date given on the ticket. By paying the fine, you are admitting guilt which leads to points on your driving record and a likely increase in your insurance premiums. If your violation is considered a misdemeanor, it will result in a permanent criminal record.
If you believe you have been wrongly ticketed, it is your legal right to have your day in court. Getting qualified legal representation can make a difference in how your case is resolved. At Gabe T. Cliett P.C., Attorney at Law, our Statesboro traffic violations attorney has represented countless Bulloch County clients in the local traffic courts. As a trial-tested attorney with a strong courtroom presence, Gabe T. Cliett has the legal skills and dedication you need when seeking a favorable outcome in traffic violation cases.
How Does the Point System Work in Georgia?
Georgia operates on the points system for traffic violations. Violations can add two to six points to your driving record, depending on the serious of the offense. If you accumulate 15 points within a 24-month period, your face a license suspension.
Examples of Georgia traffic violations:
- Aggressive driving: six points
- Reckless driving: four points
- Speeding 15 to 18 mph above the posted limit: two points
- Speeding 19 to 23 mph above the posted limit: three points
- Speeding 24 to 33 mph above the posted limit: four points
- Speeding 34mph or more above the posted limit: six points
- Failing to comply with a traffic control device: three points
What Are Georgia’s Traffic and Speeding Laws?
Most traffic violations in the state are considered misdemeanor crimes. Speeding, running red lights or stop signs, and almost all other moving violations are charged as misdemeanors. Georgia misdemeanors carry penalties of up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. It is unlikely that such tickets will result in an arrest but a misdemeanor conviction will stay on your record permanently.
Is Reckless Driving a Misdemeanor in Georgia?
Reckless driving is considered to be a misdemeanor criminal offense and is punishable by up to 12 months in jail or a fine of up to $1,000. When faced with this charge, it is important to contact us as soon as possible to have this handled.
How Our Firm Can Help
When you hire Gabe T. Cliett P.C., Attorney at Law, our firm can represent you in court and work to help you avoid fines and license suspensions due to too many points, as well as avoid a permanent criminal record.Our traffic violation attorney in Statesboro may be able to negotiate with prosecutors or take other legal actions on your behalf. We encourage you to get proper legal advice concerning your traffic violation situation by contacting us for a free case review.
Call our Statesboro Traffic Violations Lawyer today at (912) 274-7752.